In the kitchen

6 Apr

Most people that know me know that I love to cook and I love to try different recipes. I also have a husband that loves to eat what I make (*gotta love that*)! He had mentioned a while back that he loved almojabanas and how he would love to have some because there was this place where he would get them and it was only at this place that he had seen them before and… and… and… You get the idea. So being the *awesome wife* that I am (at least I think so!) I found a recipe on Saveur magazine (this was years after the long sad story was told) and got the ingredients. If you don’t know, almojabanas are fritters (popular in Puerto Rico) with a rice flour-based dough and some cheese. They look like this after frying…20120406-224911.jpg

Well, let me tell you that they were easy to make and so super delicious! They are soft on the inside and crispy on the outside… and they have melty cheese! What’s not to like?! The recipe made a ton, so I spooned the leftover dough onto a baking sheet lined with wax paper (the dough is a bit sticky) and put them in the fridge for tomorrow. I’m assuming that they will keep well for a day. Fingers crossed… I guess we’ll know tomorrow.

They would be great for a party; the almojabanas fry super fast because all the ingredients are cooked while you make the dough. I will definitely be making these again!

One Response to “In the kitchen”

  1. The Hubster April 7, 2012 at 7:27 pm #

    These were sooooooooooooooo goooooooooood!

Comment here!

