I’m not afraid of gluten-free products!

7 Apr

Like I said yesterday, I love to cook and try new recipes. I love entertaining and use my friends as guinea pigs (sorry guys!) :). Don’t worry, I’ll never serve something that doesn’t pass the hubster’s taste test. I try to make something new every time we get together or have our game-get-togethers/potlucks. We have a couple of friends that are gluten intolerant and I feel strongly about accommodating for them (because they’re not trying to be picky eaters… they get really sick when they consume gluten… I take it seriously). Sooo, I had found a Gluten-free asparagus quiche recipe (from Joy the Baker) on Pinterest and wanted to make it for my friend and knew that we would enjoy it too.

I couldn’t find the brand of gluten-free flour Joy the Baker used on her recipe, but I did find Bob’s Red Mill GF All Purpose Baking Flour on my local grocery store (which I love, by the way). I saw people commented how GF flours vary from brand to brand. I’m not going to lie… I was a little worried. When I made my dough, it didn’t look like Joy the Baker’s dough. It was a little on the dry side. I decided to proceed. It was a little difficult to roll out because it was crumbly but I manage to put it on the pie plate on one piece. The quiche baked beautifully. Wanna see?

20120407-205909.jpg

Love those golden edges. I didn’t get enough dough to make a fancy edge but I’m ok with that. Then, the moment of truth… I called my “official” taste tester over and I guess he approved because he ate the whole piece I served him. The quiche filling was delicious and very creamy. Oh, but that crust won us over. It was crisp, flavorful, so very delicious and it didn’t taste any different than “regular” pie crust. The kind of crust that you can eat by itself. We got a winner… we’re definitely adding this recipe to our rotation… maybe changing the filling a bit and we have some ideas already.

To round up my gluten-free offerings, I made cream cheese flan (someday I’ll share my mom’s recipe) and almojabanas. Delicious food to share with awesome friends.

2 Responses to “I’m not afraid of gluten-free products!”

  1. Sarah April 7, 2012 at 10:52 pm #

    I am loving your blog! Already have it set as a favorite

    • Eliany April 7, 2012 at 11:44 pm #

      Thanks Sarah! I’m glad you’re liking it so far. Already have a bunch of things to make and share.

Comment here!

