My first quilt!

22 May

This has been such an accomplishment that came to be with quite a few difficulties. But, I learned a ton! I’d tried piecing and quilting a few times before with no success. This is the first time I end up with a finished quilt and not a bunch of fabric scraps in a bag. Mind you, I taught myself to sew, cut fabric and everything else… so it’s a big deal to me! 😀

20120522-200757.jpg

First the stats:

This quilt measures 24″ x 32″ (if I remember correctly) and is composed of alternating hourglass blocks. I used two A Walk in the Woods charm packs by Aneela Hoey for Moda Fabrics and two Bella Solids White charm packs. Love the Red Riding Hood illustrations/theme. The backing and binding fabrics are fleece from JoAnn Fabrics. This was not a very expensive project since I got the charm packs on sale from the Missouri Star Quilt Company website (love their Daily Deal and their service is fantastic… also, check out some awesome tutorials on their YouTube channel).

20120522-200849.jpg

20120522-200838.jpg

What I learned during the process:

  • Being consistent is hard and many seams were ripped and sewn again in the making of this quilt.
  • I’m glad I kept going and finished it (even though I broke my machine in the process and bought a new shiny one)… although my quilt is not perfect, I’m mighty proud of it. I think it was very helpful to start with a small quilt. My previous attempts were really big and overwhelming projects that frustrated me quickly.
  • I started this quilt with a very basic manual sewing machine… no bells and no whistles. It worked fine for what I wanted/needed it until it broke. I went out and bought a new one (not terribly expensive) with a few extra features (needle up/down, computerized, drop in bobbin). I guess what I want to say is that you don’t need the latest newest sewing machine to make something beautiful… but it helps if you have it. I’m very happy with the sewing machine I have now (and will be using it to gain experience and get good at sewing), but will be saving my pennies to get the one I really want… a Janome (we’ll see what models are available by the time I have enough money saved… right now I’m looking at the MC6600P and dreaming of the Horizon)!
  • A dull rotary cutter blade is the enemy… run to the store and get a new one when it won’t cut in one swipe. This is key when you have to square your blocks… many many blocks in my case.
  • I can hand sew. I was going to machine stitch the binding but decided to give hand sewing a try. It turned out this was my favorite part of the whole thing… maybe because it’s the last thing you do? I saw a couples videos on YouTube and went for it. It was super relaxing and went way faster than I thought.
  • The quilting is not perfectly straight, but after you wash your quilt and it gets all wrinkly you can’t really see it. 😉
  • I love love love the process… from choosing fabrics and design to binding the quilt.

I’m just happy to be able to share this finished project with you! Until the next time… Toodles! 😀

2 Responses to “My first quilt!”

  1. antarabesque May 23, 2012 at 11:29 pm #

    Great job! Congrats on finishing your first quilt. I can appreciate the pride you feel.

Comment here!

