Lifetime Learner

28 Sep

I sometimes wonder what makes a person be so sure of what they want to do professionally. I don’t have that gene/inspiration/focus or whatever that special thing is. I’m more of I-want-to-experience-it-all kind of person. Growing up I was always into reading (all sorts of books and magazines), math and science. I went to schools “specialized” in Math and Science. I went to college and studied Chemistry as an undergrad. Then moved on to grad school and chose Biochemistry. I was never totally sure of what I wanted to “be”. I still don’t know what career I would like to pursue. But, I still love learning about science. Then, I decided I wanted to do something a bit different… and, I went into school counseling. I worked as a counselor for a few years. I liked learning about people and how different and similar we all are at the same time.

After all this schooling, I learned this about myself. I am a pretty good student and can be successful in school… but the bottom line is that I just love learning new things. I’ve taught myself to knit, crochet, quilt, spin yarn, cross-stitch, and soap-making (love the chemistry that goes into it). I love the variety. I love working on different projects. But, I’m still trying to figure out how to harness that love of learning and turn it into the ultimate most perfect career for myself. For now, my focus is being a stay-at-home-mom… the one career that doesn’t include formal schooling but is mostly learn-as-you-go… and I love it.


I also chose Barefoot Books! I recently received my Starter Kit and I’ve been reading through all the books. You might think that they’re just children’s books and there isn’t a lot to them. Oh, well, let me tell you! I’ve been learning so much… from other cultures and traditions to vocabulary and other languages! Right now (until September 30th, 2013… hey, that’s my birthday… can you say birthday gift!) you can get 20% off sitewide by using the code AUTUMN! Don’t miss out. Click on the picture above, explore my online marketplace, and place your order! Don’t forget the code!!! Just to get you started… the Bear books are a big favorite around here. Go check them out. =D

Comment here!

