Revisiting Evernote…

8 Jan

So, I’ll give you a little backstory. I “collect” (or hoard… depends who you ask 😉 ) recipes. I get them from the internet and from the million-and-one magazines I receive (another post completely). I’m starting to see a pattern here. In any case, I do keep the recipes that look interesting to me, but I couldn’t find a good way to organize them. What good are a bazillion recipes if you can’t find what you’re looking for? That’s when my OCD tendencies kick in and I go crazy looking for a solution to organize a huge stack of magazine clippings and links. I’ve tried many methods without any real success… including putting the clippings on binders. That requires a lot of time and shelf space. I live in an apartment and storage is at a premium. Accumulating clippings is not really the way to go. I had tried Evernote before but couldn’t get things to work like I wanted to… and I stopped using it altogether. So, I’ve been trying things… and I think I’ve found my solution.

Scanner Pro

The App Store was offering Scanner Pro (by Readdle) for free (as their App of the Week). You can scan documents using your phone’s camera. I got it without really thinking that I wanted to use it for my recipes… but it hit me when I saw that I can scan recipes and send them to Evernote! That means that I can scan my recipes (keep them forever on digital format) and recycle the clippings!!! I don’t have to save pages from magazines any longer… I can scan directly from the magazine and send to Evernote!

logoevernote

Evernote is also free! So this is what I did. I created a notebook which will become my Recipes: To Try repository. I will send all my scans there making sure that I tag every recipe. Tagging is essential since that’s what I’ll use to search for my recipes on Evernote. Once I try a recipe, it’ll go to my Recipes: Tried and True notebook or trash depending on how I like it. 😀 Recipes found on websites are super easy to send to Evernote using Evernote Web Clipper. Easy-peasy. Even if the website goes offline (or if I don’t have internet access), I’ll still have the recipe. I can access Evernote on my computer, iPad and iPhone. Awesome, right!?

Well, guess what?! It gets awesomer because I found out that Evernote has another product that is super appropriate for this project. Enter Evernote Food! You can use it to keep track of what you’re cooking and eating, restaurants, and, of course, recipes!!! Evernote Food links up to Evernote and finds your notes that contain recipes. So smart! I love that it all works together super smoothly. I have to play with this app some more (it is available for iPod, iPhone, iPad and Android devices). You probably don’t need to have both Evernote and Evernote Food if you just want to organize recipes, but I know that I will use Evernote for other things as well.

Evernote_Food

I can’t wait to scan my recipes and organize them! This is what my Recipes: To Try notebook looks like right now. The first note is a recipe from a website sent to Evernote using Evernote Web Clipper (an extension on your browser). The second note is a recipe scanned using Scanner Pro on my iPhone and sent over to Evernote. If you click on the Tag icon on the upper right hand side, you can search the tags.

My Evernote

I will come back and show you what it looks like and share updates once I have more recipes on my notebook.

Comment here!

